Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney
DUI
DMV Hearings
DUI Penalties
DUI Defense
DUI with Accident
Pre-Arrest Representation
Drug Crimes
Possession
Sales
Alternative Sentencing
Domestic Violence
Restraining Orders
Theft Crimes
Post Conviction Relief
Expungement
Violent Crimes
Homicide Crimes
Gang Crimes
Sex Crimes
Internet Crimes
White Collar Crimes
Hit and Run
Coachella Valley Offenses
Coachella and Stagecoach Festival Arrests
Free case evaluation
Phone:
--

Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.

The National Trial Lawyers
1801 Century Park East, Los Angeles, CA 90067

  • I couldn't be any happier with my decision to have Brian represent me in my 1st offense DUI case. My career in the National Guard Army was on the line, and after speaking with many lawyers, I felt the most comfortable with Brian. I could sense he had a lot of knowledge and experience with this type of case. On top of that, not only did he work with me with the price, he gave me all the case facts, and never sugarcoated how difficult this case might be. I made the mistake of not reading all of my DVI papers and was unaware of having to call the DVI within 10 days for a hearing. Brian helped me just in time, and was the only lawyer who provided the idea of getting letters from my supervisor, coworkers, and close friends to prove I am a good person who made one mistake, so I would have a fighting chance with the DA. Through the entire process, Brian answered quickly through text and emails to keep me well informed. When the court date finally arrived, with the help of Brian's partner, Daniel Peebles, they were able to work a deal with the DA. The DUI was dismissed and I plead guilty to VC 21710 coasting -- with only a fine of $725 and no probation. My career was saved and I could not thank Brian and Daniel enough for it. There is no surprise why Brian ranks 10 out of 10 on Avvo with 22 client reviews; he does very well to keep up to those ranking. Mark

  • 5.0 stars

Posted by Lisa
January 30, 2016

Couldn't have hired a better attorney for my case. Was facing 3 years State Prison, and got off on probation. I would highly recommend Brian for any criminal/legal troubles.

Posted by Dawn
December 31, 2015

Brian was great, he represented me for a traffic violation. He was responsive, provided great advice, and ultimately my case was dismissed. Great outcome!

  • Awesome to work with!

5.0 stars

Posted by Marco
November 20, 2015

Hired attorney

Brian was extremely helpful during my case. Always answered my calls, texts, emails, and questions in a promptly manner. His knowledge led to me getting results I was/am very happy with. I highly recommend his services

  • Phenomenal!!

Posted by Lisa
September 26, 2015

My boyfriend was wrongfully charged with domestic violence. After doing some research we found that these cases are EXTREMELY difficult to fight regardless of the situation. Luckily we found Mr. Michaels and emailed him for a consultation. We were immediately contacted and given straight facts of what we were facing. After hiring him the whole case went seamlessly. He kept in constant contact...

5.0 stars

Posted by Jeff
April 11, 2015

I contacted Brian a mere few days before my trail and he took the ball and ran with it. The outcome was above what I expected and he was extremely easy to work with given my timeframe. Cant recommend him enough!

  • He made the impossible possible!!

5.0 stars

Posted by Babbs
March 24, 2015

I am quite confident that NO ONE could have helped us more than Brian Michaels. I feel very fortunate to have found him. My son had gotten a speeding ticket once on his way to the airport to pick me up. Since I was living in Houston while he was in college in LA, we hired someone to represent him for this ticket. Unfortunately, that didn't happen....and when my intuition prompted me to...

  • Great Job!

5.0 stars

Posted by a client
December 9, 2014

Brian recently got me out of Felony Child Abuse charges in a case with LAPD. I am very grateful to have had Mr. Michaels and has allowed me to now get my children back. Thank you!

5.0 stars

Posted by Byron
April 30, 2014

After working with another lawyer I quickly realized that I needed a proactive attorney to handle the horror of a criminal injustice. I was recommended to Mr. Michaels who had all the experience that I was in search of. In the end Mr.Michaels negotiated a resolution that my family And I could work with which bought this tragedy to a finale.

  • Professionalism of Brian Russell Michaels

5.0 stars

Posted by andrei
September 29, 2013

Brian Russell Michaels helped me solve my criminal case professionally and smoothly. He did an excellent job in doing so, getting the case off of my record and I only had to pay a fee. He also helped my friend which was involved in a similar case, he too was very happy. Brian is a person who is trained and experienced in his field, he is a hard working dedicated attorney. He, unlike...

Accomplished impossible

5.0 stars

Posted by John
September 28, 2013

I hired Mr. Michaels eariler this year to help me expunge an old case. He did even better and filed a motion that got my case dismissed. Because of his work I was able to keep my job. I highly recommend Mr. Michaels. He was responsive and got my job done quickly and with a better result than I would have imagined.Client who beat misdemeanor charge of misuse of Handicap Placard

I was wrongly arrested for misusing a handicap placard and the District Attorney charged me with a crime for it! Mr. Michaels went to court and told the DA if they didn't drop it he would take the case to trial for free! He didn't have to since the DA blinked and ended up with a ticket and a small fine. Ridiculous that a D.A would want to put someone in jail for this. Thanks to Mr. Michaels I still have a clean record.

Family member of client who beat his immigration case thanks to Brian Michaels work in vacating his plea.

My brother was arrested at LAX coming back from a vacation. Though he was born in another country he has been in America for 22 years. He had a felony conviction from when he was a kid and was arrested at the airport and held in immigration jail for 4 months. We hired one criminal attorney to file a motion to vacate his plea and save him from getting deported. That attorney failed and we thought all hope was lost until we hired Mr. Michaels and his firm who filed a new motion and saved by brother at the last minute from being separated from his family forever when he convinced the District Attorney to ok the motion and the court went along. Now my brother is a free man, and its all thanks to Brian Michaels.

YM January 2013

Family of Client on Trial for Murder - 11/14/2011

I wanted to take a moment to let you know how appreciated we are for your work. As I sit here and pray that the jury evaluates things and make a fair judgment on all evidence. I also wish and ask for many many miracles all thru your future, just for being a responsible and a well committed lawyer. Knowing you have other trials to attend and other customers to help out. You still stay strong and give it your all. You show that professionalism by finishing all the way. You started with This case and you help out the family and still stand strong until the end. Not very many people get to be so lucky and have the honor to experience a great lawyer like you. I wish for you practice to grow and grow and to be recognize as a loyal outstanding one in a million practice. Your closing statement really gave me comfort and gave me peace. It made me feel like I can pull out this feeling I had inside of me. You spoke to that jury with you heart, this is why they are taking the time to look in to things. Deep inside if me I still have this anxious feeling , but more relax and more positive knowing the impact I'm sure you gave to some of the jury. I hold strong and wait positively for the out come. Thanks for another day of your hard work. Great miracles are coming your way for being who you are.

Client accused of Criminal Violation of Restraining Order. April 2012

Mr. Michaels represented me after my previous attorney botched my case resulting in me going to jail and the threat of longer jail time. Mr. Michaels professional expertise kept me from jail, parried an obviously biased court and handled witnesses with skill and integrity. Mr. Michaels defense was comprehensive and effective. I would recommend Mr. Michaels with no hesitation. I am so very grateful to Mr. Michaels for his commitment and hard work. I hope I never have need for Mr Michaels services again. However, if ever I do need a criminal attorney again, Mr. Michaels will be who I, my family and friends will retain.

Eddie Furlong

Client accused of 2nd time DUI and Probation Violation

Brian was kind enough to work with me at a discounted rate due to my being unemployed and never made me feel like I was getting discounted representation. He not only kept me out of jail but also is helping me clear my record after my community service is completed. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of a great attorney.

Attorney Michaels vacated two criminal felonies after 17 years because my husband was having immigration consequences due to these.

We interviewed 5 different lawyers that were highly recommended. My husband had two charges one was Fraud and the other was possession of cocaine. Both got dismissed and vacated. All the other attorneys we interviewed gave us zero chance of vacating these cases. We needed to vacate them under immigration penal codes because if not my husband was going to get deported back to his country. We had already tried vacating it once and the judge said she couldn't because it was out of her jurisdiction. Mr. Michaels researched the scenario, found a different way to approach the judge and got our case dismissed. He then was retained again to vacate our second case and he did as well. We would recommend Mr. Michaels to anyone. He really goes the extra mile in structuring a case that will benefit us. He fought for my family and thanks to him our family is living a normal life again. My husband was released immediately from federal immigration detention and we were able to celebrate christmas and New Years all together. We are beyond satisfied. If not my husband would have been deported and our family would have been seperated. Our childrens christmas wish to santa came true. Thank you very much Mr. Michaels for keeping our family together. My husband is now applying to become an american citizen.

The Best Criminal Attorney you can find

Mr. Michaels represented me after my previous attorney botched my case resulting in me going to jail and the threat of longer jail time. Mr. Michaels profesas a loyal outstanding one in a million practice. Your closing statement really gave me comfort and gave me peace. It made me feel like I can pull out this feeling I had inside of me. You spoke to that jury with you heart, this is why they are taking the time to look in to things. Deep inside if me I still have this anxious feeling , but more relax and more positive knowing the impact I'm sure you gave to some of the jury. I hold strong and wait positively for the out come. Thanks for another day of your hard work. Great miracles are coming your way for being who you are.

Client accused of 2nd time DUI and Probation Violation

Brian was kind enough to work with me at a discounted rate due to my being unemployed and never made me feel like I was getting discounted representation. He not only kept me out of jail but also is helping me clear my record after my community service is completed. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of a great attorney.

Criminal Misdemeanor Case

Brian knew his way around supporting my case in the city of los angeles through many different angles. His experience help me guide and understand what protocols to handle and it what situations to prioritize. Before going to court, he felt his chances were high to keep my sentenceing to the most minimal. The prosecutor was someone he had close ties with in the past remains associated with multiple ones. As a result he was able to reduce the sentence to the lowest misdomenor, which has significantly es through many different angles. His experience help me guide and understand what protocols to handle and it what situations to prioritize. Before going to court, he felt his chances were high to keep my sentenceing to the most minimal. The prosecutor was someone he had close ties with in the past remains associated with multiple ones. As a result he was able to reduce the sentence to the lowest misdomenor, which has significantly been outstanding.

Brian Michaels was great counsel

Brian was kind enough to work with me at a discounted rate due to my being unemployed and never made me feel like I was getting discounted representation. He not only kept me out of jail but also is helping me clear my record after my community service is completed. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of a great attorney.

Coulnd't have been happier

Posted by a DUI client,

I was accused of DUI and interviewed a number of law firms I found on the internet. Mr. Michaels was the only one who took the time and energy to inform me of my rights and what his firm would do for me without charging me a huge sum of money. His fee was very fair and got me a great result. After going to trial he won a not guilty verdict and was able to get my driver's license back. Can't recommend highly enough.

  1. Great Results

· A one of a kind attorney you don't find these days

5.0 stars

Posted by Nader
May 17, 2013

Attorney Brian Michaels is a rare find in the Los Angeles criminal defense association. Apart from being highly personable, warm, kind, emphatic, and concerned, he goes the extra mile by answering any and all of your questions and makes you feel comfortable about retaining him. Brian is a nonsense defense attorney who is concerned with the well being of his clients. Articulate...

· 2 felonies, 2 misdemeanors all charges dropped before we even went to trial.

5.0 stars

Posted by Aaron
May 16, 2013

Flag

After multiple search warrants and some 30 officers I was charged with 2 felonies and 2 misdemeanors. Brian assessed the situation and worked aggressively from the minute I retained him. I was very impressed by how well he predicted the prosecutions actions weeks before we were even sitting in the same room with them. His knowledge of specific motions were crucial, so good...

· Great Job

5.0 stars

Posted by michael
April 4, 2013

Brian was really forward and direct with helping us out of our situation. Never being through any thing like this he really kept us informed and told us all possibilities of the outcome of our case. We would have been lost without him with this case.

5.0 stars

Posted by a Consumer Protection client
January 3, 2013

We interviewed 5 different lawyers that were highly recommended. My husband had two charges one was Fraud and the other was possession of cocaine. Both got dismissed and vacated. All the other attorneys we interviewed gave us zero chance of vacating these cases. We needed to vacate them under immigration penal codes because if not my husband was going to get deported back to his...

The Best Criminal Attorney You Can Find

5.0 stars

Posted by Edward Furlong
May 11, 2011

Mr. Michaels represented me after my previous attorney botched my case resulting in me going to jail and the threat of longer jail time. Mr. Michaels professional expertise kept me from jail, parried an obviously biased court and handled witnesses with skill and integrity. Mr. Michaels defense was comprehensive and effective. I would recommend Mr. Michaels with no...

4.0 stars

Posted by a client
September 12, 2010

Brian knew his way around supporting my case in the city of los angeles through many different angles. His experience help me guide and understand what protocols to handle and it what situations to prioritize. Before going to court, he felt his chances were high to keep my sentenceing to the most minimal. The prosecutor was someone he had close ties with in the past remains associated...

· Brian Michaels was great counsel

5.0 stars

Posted by jake
July 1, 2010

Brian was kind enough to work with me at a discounted rate due to my being unemployed and never made me feel like I was getting discounted representation. He not only kept me out of jail but also is helping me clear my record after my community service is completed. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of a great attorney.

· Coulnd't have been happier

5.0 stars

Posted by a DUI & DWI client
January 24, 2010

I was accused of DUI and interviewed a number of law firms I found on the internet. Mr. Michaels was the only one who took the time and energy to inform me of my rights and what his firm would do for me without charging me a huge sum of money. His fee was very fair and got me a great result. After going to trial he won a not guilty verdict and was able to get my driver's license back. Can't recommend highly enough.

· Great Results

5.0 stars

Posted by Andy
January 12, 2010

Mr. Michaels represented me in a serious felony case. I was only 18 at the time and I didn't really know what to do and didn't have alot of money. My parents helped a little and he worked it out with them. Mr. Michaels worked on my case for about a year and got it dismissed. He did a real good job and now I am in college working to be a lawyer.